HST 111 - World History through Film

Border Disputes: a Global Encyclopedia - 2015 Provides broad coverage of approximately 80 current international border disputes and conflicts. Each volume begins with an introduction to the type of dispute to be discussed, identifying the conflict as territorial, positional, or functional.

Britannica Academic Edition Updated daily. The combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides a variety of reliable sources.

CIA World Fact Book The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues - 2011 Provides information from numerous fields of knowledge relevant to the study of environmental issues, including biology, geology, anthropology, demographics, genetics, and engineering, and explains the interrelationships of these issues.

Encyclopedia of Geography - 2010 Covers a diverse array of topics to offer a comprehensive and useful summary of the state of the discipline of Geography in the early 21st century.

Encyclopedia of Invasive Species - 2011 Provides information on invasive plants, animals, fungi, and microorganisms in the United States, which are threatening native ecosystems, agriculture, economies, and human health.

Encyclopedia of Population - 2003 Provides coverage of demographic topics both in the core field and in neighboring disciplines. Topics covered include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries, low fertility rates, immigration, problems of old-age support, the environmental impact of dense population; the press for expanded reproductive rights; and many other issues.

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment - 2002 Covering the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815.

Geo-Data: World Geographical Encyclopedia - 2003 Provides entries on the physical geography of every country in the world plus other selected locations. Each entry features a relief map depicting the geography of the location plus detailed text that describes its features, climate and vegetation. Entries are formatted with standardized rubrics to facilitate comparison.

Hispanic Databook - 2013 Includes detailed data on national, state, county, and place (city, town, etc.) levels. It contains profiles on 782 places with the highest concentrations of Hispanic/Latino population, comprising 23 ethnic backgrounds from Argentinean to Venezuelan, and includes 26 topics, including homeownership, income, language spoken, jobs, rent, and poverty.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States - 2004 Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Addresses such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.

People's Chronology, The - 2005 Presents a year-by-year record of human events from prehistory to the present. Each chronological chapter is further organized by era or year, and within each year by 33 standard subject categories that feature not only political events and wars, but also events in the arts and humanities, education, transportation, science and medicine, and social trends. Also includes issues of concern such as consumer protection, crime, and nutrition.