Automatically do an interlibrary loan request if the article is not available online or in the library.
What is Peer Review?
It is the quality control system for scholarship. It means that articles in a peer-reviewed journal must be scrutinized by experts before they are published. SYNONYMS = 'academic', 'juried', 'refereed', 'scholarly'.
How can you tell when something is peer-reviewed?
1) When you are looking at a print copy, of an entire issue of a journal, the editorial board of scholars with academic credentials and institutional affiliations will be listed somewhere. These are the 'peers' that review each published article.
2) Use a check box limit in your database search (when available).
Cites and excerpts reviews appearing in periodicals published in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K. which cover English-language fiction and non-fiction. Children's books are included, but excluded are: textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences.
Records, indexes, and archives all three C-SPAN networks seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day. Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location. The congressional sessions and committee hearings are indexed by person with full-text.
House and Senate floor proceedings, public policy discussions and debates
Indexes doctoral dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. It selectively covers Master's Theses, Canadian dissertations, and British and other European dissertations going back to 1637. Nearly half of the records link to the full-text document.
covers the complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions
Dates of Coverage:
1637 to present (for selected British and European dissertations)
1861 to present (for indexing of U.S. dissertations)
July 1980 to present (for dissertations with abstracts)
January 1988 to present (for Master's Theses with abstracts)
1997 to present (for the full-text of most dissertations)
2013 to present (for indexing and full-text of theses produced at Morehead State University)
more than 3,800,000 records
more than 1.700.000 full-text documents
Indexes the literature relating to public administration and public policy. Coverage is selective and international.
agriculture, banking, business, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, international relations, law and legislation, political science, public administration, social sciences, and statistics
Dates of Coverage:
1972 to present
more than 628,000 records
PAIS selectively indexes and abstracts articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories.
In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.