Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Kentucky Encyclopedia by
Call Number: 976.9003 K37
Publication Date: 1992
Encyclopedia of Kentucky
Call Number: 976.9 E56 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of Northern Kentucky by
Call Number: 976.93 E56
Publication Date: 2009
Kentucky African American Encyclopedia by
Call Number: 920.009296 K37
Publication Date: 2015
Kentucky History: An Annotated Bibliography by
Call Number: 016.9769 B915k
Publication Date: 2000
Kentucky Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: 976.900922 k37
Publication Date: 1995
America: History and Life
Indexes and abstracts English-language scholarly literature for the history of the United States and Canada. Records indexing book and media reviews of historical interest are also included.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
Full text of the periodical holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features about 6,500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Digital Archives - Morehead State
Morehead State Digital Archives is the online repository of the scholarship, creative works, and historical record of Morehead State University. Included in the community are rare and unique regional collections of social, cultural and historical significance.
What is Peer Review?
It is the quality control system for scholarship. It means that articles in a peer-reviewed journal must be scrutinized by experts before they are published. SYNONYMS = 'academic', 'juried', 'refereed', 'scholarly'.
How can you tell when something is peer-reviewed?
1) When you are looking at a print copy, of an entire issue of a journal, the editorial board of scholars with academic credentials and institutional affiliations will be listed somewhere. These are the 'peers' that review each published article.
2) Use a check box limit in your database search (when available).
Chicago Style Citation Guides