The first reference work devoted exclusively to Victorian literature of the fantastic.
Serves as the largest single reference source of current research in virology. It covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects.
Covers vibrations in machines, buildings and other structures, vehicles, ships, and aircraft, as well as human response to vibration. Techniques for modeling, analysis, design, testing, and control of vibration.
Reveals what the Mafia is, its role in organized crime, and its principal players, past and present.
Still the most comprehensive reference available on surgical flaps. Dozens of internationally recognized experts describe every clinically proven flap option available for repairing both routine and unusual problems.
The Encyclopedia of Rose Science brings together a wealth of information on the rose. A team of internationally renowned experts has contributed scores of articles, from the history of rose cultivation to discoveries in rose genetics.
Covers the Laptev, East Siberian and Chukchi seas.
Contains mathematical formulas used to calculate distances in numerous mathematical fields (e.g., geometry, topology, algebra, graph and coding theory, and computing).
The first reference work to chart the history of embroidery from Ancient Egypt to the present day and to offer an authoritative guide to all the major embroidery traditions of the region.
Rhetorical Question:
Since there appears to be an encyclopedia for almost any topic you can imagine, then why rely on Wikipedia?
In fact, most professors won't allow you to use Wikipedia.
Most academic disciplines have at least one "authoritative" or "standard" reference work that is recognized as being important by everyone familiar with the discipline.
Below are several examples of these that we own as e-books. A complete A to Z list of e-book encyclopedias is available on the library's home page.
A good researcher will know to use these as starting points.
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology -- 2010
For decades Corsini has been the most authoritative encyclopedia that covers the entire discipline of psychology.
Grove Music Online
Is the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism, The
Considered to be the most authoritative reference work for literary theory and criticism.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
For the discipline of economics Palgrave's is considered to be the most authoritative encyclopedia.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This is considered to be the most authoritative encyclopedia covering the entire discipline of philosophy.
Reference Universe
