LibGuides: Upward Bound 2024: Everything Else

Education

Chronicle of Higher Education
Is an indispensable source of news, commentary, and data for academe. The library's site license includes complete access to the archive back to 1989 and a number of extras: almanac issues back to 1995; special reports; supplemental information for print articles; slide shows and video; and alerting.

Subject Coverage:
various aspects of higher education
Dates of Coverage:
1989 to present
1995 to present (almanac issues)
Update Frequency:
daily
Size:
unknown
Education Full Text
Covers every age and sector of the educational community from preschool through college. It cites every article of at least one column in length in more than 770 English-language periodicals.

Subject Coverage:
numerous aspects of education
Dates of Coverage:
June 1983 to present (indexing)
1994 to present (abstracts)
1996 to present (selected full text)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 602,000 records
ERIC
Indexes and abstracts thousands of education-related materials. It includes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines.

Subject Coverage:
covers all aspects of education
Dates of Coverage:
1966 to present
1993 to present (for records with full-text)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 1,000,000 records
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for some of the most popular peer-reviewed journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Subject Coverage:
assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science, mathematics, and teacher education
Dates of Coverage:
not available
Update Frequency:
not available
Size:
280 journals indexed

Civil Law

Congressional Research Service Reports
CRS is Congress’ think tank, and its reports are relied upon by academics, businesses, judges, policy advocates, students, librarians, journalists, and policymakers for accurate and timely analysis of important policy issues. The reports are not classified and do not contain individualized advice to any specific member of Congress.

Dates of Coverage:
mid 1990s to the present

Update Frequency:
unknown

Size:
more than 8,300 reports

Note:
As government information these reports are in the public domain and can be used freely without concerns over copyright.
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
Brings together periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided. Research the National Firearms Act, the Miller and Heller decisions, and other key aspects of this subject.
HeinOnline
Contains more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents. Bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,400 law-related periodicals. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, and U.S. Presidents.
Nexis Uni
Offers numerous databases for law, news, and business.

Subject Coverage:
law, news, and business
Dates of Coverage:
coverage varies
Update Frequency:
daily
Size:
not available
WestlawNext
Offers comprehensive full text of statutes, case law materials, public records, and other legal resources, along with current news articles and business information.

Subject Coverage:
law, news, business
Dates of Coverage:
coverage varies
Update Frequency:
unknown
Size:
not available

Note: Training site at http://westelearning.com/

Accounting

ABI/INFORM Global
Business information from articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.

Subject Coverage: accounting, banking, computers, economics, engineering management, communications, finance, health care, human resources, insurance, international trends, law, management, marketing, public administration, real estate, taxation, telecommunications, transportation

Dates of Coverage:
1971 to 1986 (for the deep backfile)
1986 to 1997 (for the backfile)
1999 to present (for the current file)
1991 to present (for records with abstracts)

Update Frequency: weekly

Size: more than 2,400,000 records
Business Source Premier
Offers indexing and abstracting for nearly 2000 business periodicals along with online full-text for nearly 1300 of those titles -- which include a number of scholarly journals.

Subject Coverage:
business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting, international business
Dates of Coverage:
January 1984 to present
January 1990 to present (for records with full text)
Update Frequency:
daily
Size:
not available
Career & Technical Education
Is a source of vocational information. Keeping current with journals in a field is easily accomplished with e-mail alerting or RSS feeds.

Subject Coverage:
technology, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, photography, and nursing
Dates of Coverage:
1991 to present
Update Frequency:
daily
Size:
not available

Aerospace Engineering

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications
The web editions of nearly 35 journals published by the American Chemical Society are searchable in this database.

>
Subject Coverage:
applied chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, biotechnology, core chemistry, organic chemistry, pharmaceuticals, polymers, and material science
Dates of Coverage:
1996 to present
Update Frequency:
unknown
Size:
unknown
Applied Science & Technology Index
Indexes more than 350 key, international English-language periodicals in the applied sciences and technology. It is a good source of information on management, careers and employment, and financial trends in the scientific and technological fields.

Subject Coverage:
chemistry, computer technology, data processing, energy-related disciplines, engineering, mathematics, physics
Dates of Coverage:
October 1983 to present
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 1,300,000 records