LibGuides: Upward Bound 2024: Medical Fields

Health Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Psychology, pre-Pharmacy, pre-Dentistry

APA PsycInfo
Indexes journal articles, technical reports, monographic series, dissertations, and other materials relating to psychology. Articles are selected from more than 1,500 journals published in 35 languages.

Subject Coverage:
psychology & related fields
Dates of Coverage:
1600s to present
Update Frequency:
weekly
Size:
more than 5 million records
Notes:
Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
Has one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry
Offers options for searching on Cited References
Training Videos: https://www.youtube.com/c/APAPublishingTraining/videos
CINAHL {Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature}
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes and abstracts more than 900 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software.

Subject Coverage:
nursing and allied health
Dates of Coverage:
1982 to present
1986 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 670,000 records
Consumer Health Complete
Is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Users can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, magazine articles, pamphlets, videos, and animations.

Subject Coverage:
aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health
Dates of Coverage:
unknown
Update Frequency:
unknown
Size:
more than 5000 publications
more than 500 pamphlets
more than 200 reference books
several hundred videos and animations
MEDLINE
Produced by the National Library of Medicine and covers journal literature published internationally in all areas of medicine.

Subject Coverage:
experimental medicine, clinical medicine, nursing, psychiatry, health services administration, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, education, pathology, veterinary medicine
Dates of Coverage:
1965 to present
1975 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 12,000,000 records
more than 4,800 biomedical journals
Note:
Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities.
PTSDpubs
attempts to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

Subject Coverage:
traumatic stress and mental health sequelae, assessment, prevention, treatment, mental health services, professional ethics, public policy, and traumatized populations
Dates of Coverage:
1871 to present
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 42,000 records
Note:
PTSDpubs is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
PubMed (for MSU)
Is a huge index database for biomedical literature maintained by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This link is to a customized version for Morehead State University which allows for quick links within the interface to articles from the online journals to which the library subscribes.

Subject Coverage:
medicine and biology
Dates of Coverage:
varies by journal title
Update Frequency:
varies by journal title
Size:
more than 23 million citations

Note:
Recommended for users of Chrome - LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that makes linking to full-text easier in PubMed. Go to https://thirdiron.com/libkey-nomad/
Sanford Guide
a resource on antibiotic stewardship to assist students in making evidence-based decisions related to the use of antibiotics
ScienceDirect
Is an online collection of mostly scientific scholarly journals and reference books.

Subject Coverage:
covers many subject areas within the sciences but is particularly strong in: life sciences, engineering, earth sciences, pharmacology, and textiles
Dates of Coverage:
unavailable
Update Frequency:
unavailable
Size:
more than 2,900 journals (for citations)
UpToDate
A clinical decision support resource which includes access to over 11,000 topics in over 22 specialties.

"UptoDate is a well-known resource in the medical field. This database functions as a clinical decision support tool providing quick access to information that can help the clinician at the bedside. The information provided in each of the many clinical topics is considered evidence-based and has gone through a peer-review process before the summary of findings is presented. Additional tools such as drug interaction monitoring, clinical calculators, images, and practice changing updates are also highly sought after in the community of medical and health science users."
-- review from ccAdvisor