LibGuides: Health Promotion: Websites

News Databases

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Provides the full-page images of this digitized newspaper provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable. To locate issues earlier than 2008 in microfilm and the most recent issues in print click here. Both Lexis-Nexis Academic and WestlawNext offer full-text coverage of the NYT 1980 to present.
Subject Coverage:
national news, international news

Dates of Coverage:
2008 to recent (3 month embargo)

Update Frequency:
unknown
Size:
unknown
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers and selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are included.
Subject Coverage:
covers a variety of subjects relating to current events
Dates of Coverage:
unknown
Update Frequency:
daily
Size:
unknown

Health Resources

American Public Health Organization
The association believes, "Public health promotes and protects the health of people and the communities where they live, learn, work and play."
Center for Health Promotion and Disease Prevention at UNC Chapel Hill
From the organization: "The UNC Center for Health Promotion and Disease Prevention addresses pressing health problems by collaborating with communities to conduct research, provide training, and translate research findings into policy and practice. The Center seeks to reduce health disparities through an emphasis on community-engaged research. The CDC selected HPDP to be one of its first three Prevention Research Centers in 1986. Now comprised of 26 academic institutions, the PRC program is an interdependent network of community, academic, and public health partners that conduct prevention research and promote practices proven to promote good health."
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
According to the organizations; "CDC increases the health security of our nation. As the nation’s health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health threats. To accomplish our mission, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise."
Health Resources and Services Administration
Its mission is to "To improve health outcomes and achieve health equity through access to quality services, a skilled health workforce, and innovative, high-value programs."
Kentucky Department for Public Health
Their mission is to " improve the health and safety of people in Kentucky through prevention, promotion and protection. "
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
This department's mission is to "The mission of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is to enhance the health and well-being of all Americans, by providing for effective health and human services and by fostering sound, sustained advances in the sciences underlying medicine, public health, and social services."
World Health Organization
According to the organization, " WHO is the United Nations agency that connects nations, partners and people to promote health, keep the world safe and serve the vulnerable – so everyone, everywhere can attain the highest level of health."

Healthy Living
From the CDC. It highlights "prevention, awareness, or screening for different public health topics in short, user-friendly articles."
Healthy People 2030
"Healthy People identifies public health priorities to help individuals, organizations, and communities across the United States improve health and well-being. Healthy People 2030, the initiative’s fifth iteration, builds on knowledge gained over the first 4 decades."
Medline Plus
"Our mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free."
Morbidity & Mortality Weekly
"The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) is a weekly epidemiological digest for the United States published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)."