LibGuides: Health Promotion: Home

Reference Books

Alcohol and Drugs in North America: a Historical Encyclopedia [2 Volumes] by David M. Fahey (Editor); Jon S. Miller (Editor)
ISBN: 9781598844795
Publication Date: 2013-08-27
This two-volume encyclopedia provides accessibly written coverage on a wide range of topics, covering substances ranging from whiskey to peyote as well as related topics such as Mexican drug trafficking and societal effects caused by specific drugs.
Dictionary of Public Health Promotion and Education by Naomi Modeste; Teri Tamayose; Helen Hopp Marshak (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0787975354
Publication Date: 2004-10-28
Written for public health professionals and students, the Dictionary of Public Health Education and Health Promotion, Second Edition, includes definitions for terms and concepts frequently used in public health education and promotion.
Encyclopedia of Aging by David J. Ekerdt
ISBN: 9780028658797
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
This four-volume academic set covers the subject of aging from a social, cultural, sociological, biological, medical, anthropological, religious/philosophical, and economic point of view.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior by Rosalyn Carson-DeWitt
ISBN: 0028658914
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
The content emphasis is on updating of both topics and statistics across a broad spectrum. Specifically addressing the new frontiers that have opened in the area of addictive studies, the volumes explore not only the biological basis for addiction, but also recent enhancements in diagnosis and treatment.
Encyclopedia of Gerontology by James E. Birren (Editor-In-Chief); Suresh I. S. Rattan (Editor-In-Chief); Victor W. Marshall (Editorial Board Member); Thomas R. Cole (Editorial Board Member); David Solomon (Editorial Board Member); Edward J. Masoro (Editorial Board Member); K. Warner Schaie (Editorial Board Member); Gloria Gutman (Editorial Board Member)
ISBN: 9780123705303
Publication Date: 2006-11-22
Aging is a complex process of change involving influences of a biological, behavioral, social, and environmental nature, all of which are explored in the context of this encyclopedia.
The Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion by Thomas P. Gullotta (Editor); Martin Bloom (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Main (Circulating) 613 E56
ISBN: 0306472961
Publication Date: 2003-01-31
Public Health is one of the fastest growing university programs in the United States today. At the same time, the challenges that face the practitioner continue to grow and become more complex. This Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion covers over 100 topics within Public Health, with many subjects ranging from Early Childhood, Childhood, Adolescence, Adulthood and Older Adulthood in their scope.
Encyclopedia of Social Deviance by Craig J. Forsyth (Editor); Heith Copes (Editor)
ISBN: 9781483340463
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Social deviance--any behavior that violates a cultural norm--can involve something as major as crime or as minor as consistently and deliberately wearing lively mismatched socks. Whether a crime, a sin, or simply unique taste, what's considered deviant at one time and place can change, as when extensive tattooing and "body art" evolved from a sideshow carnival spectacle to a nearly universal rite of passage within U.S. culture. Drawing contributions from across the social and behavioral sciences, including sociology, anthropology, criminology, politics, psychology, and religion, Encyclopedia of Social Deviance introduces readers to the lively field of rule-making and rebellion that strikes at the core of what it means to be an individual living in a social world.
Encyclopedia of Virology by B. W. J. Mahy (Editor-In-Chief); Marc H. V. van Regenmortel (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780123744104
Publication Date: 2008-07-24
Encyclopedia of Virology, Third Edition continues its success as the largest single reference source of current research in virology.
Sexually Transmitted Disease: an Encyclopedia of Diseases, Prevention, Treatment, and Issues [2 Volumes] by Jill Ann Grimes (Editor); Lori Apffel Smith (Editor); Kristyn Fagerberg (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440801358
Publication Date: 2013-11-12
With one in four Americans over the age of fourteen being infected with a sexually transmitted infection, the topic of sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) is a highly relevant health issue.

Databases

CINAHL {Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature} This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes and abstracts more than 900 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software.
Subject Coverage:
nursing and allied health
Dates of Coverage:
1982 to present
1986 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 670,000 records
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Users can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, magazine articles, pamphlets, videos, and animations.
Subject Coverage:
aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health
Dates of Coverage:
unknown
Update Frequency:
unknown
Size:
more than 5000 publications
more than 500 pamphlets
more than 200 reference books
several hundred videos and animations
Global Cancer Observatory This link opens in a new window
Offers an interactive web-based platform presenting global cancer statistics to inform cancer control and cancer research. The platform focuses on the visualization of cancer indicators to illustrate the changing scale, epidemiological profile, and impact of the disease worldwide.
Health Source -- Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features full text for: over 80 general health, nutrition and professional health care magazines; 130 books; and more than ten thousand reports and pamphlets.
Subject Coverage:
adult health, bacteriology, behavioral health, cardiology, childcare, drug and medication information, emergency medicine, food sciences and nutrition, general health, genetics, laboratory medicine, medical sciences, oncology, pediatric health, pediatrics, pulmonology, senior health, sports medicine, and women's health
Dates of Coverage:
January 1984 to present (for some journals)
January 1990 to present (for full-text)
Update Frequency:
daily
Size:
unknown
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Library of Medicine and covers journal literature published internationally in all areas of medicine.
Subject Coverage:
experimental medicine, clinical medicine, nursing, psychiatry, health services administration, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, education, pathology, veterinary medicine
Dates of Coverage:
1965 to present
1975 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 12,000,000 records
more than 4,800 biomedical journals
Note:
Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities.
Ovid Journals This link opens in a new window
An aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
attempts to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
Subject Coverage:
traumatic stress and mental health sequelae, assessment, prevention, treatment, mental health services, professional ethics, public policy, and traumatized populations
Dates of Coverage:
1871 to present
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 42,000 records
Note:
PTSDpubs is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
PubMed (for MSU) This link opens in a new window
Is a huge index database for biomedical literature maintained by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This link is to a customized version for Morehead State University which allows for quick links within the interface to articles from the online journals to which the library subscribes.
Subject Coverage:
medicine and biology
Dates of Coverage:
varies by journal title
Update Frequency:
varies by journal title
Size:
more than 23 million citations

Note:
Recommended for users of Chrome - LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that makes linking to full-text easier in PubMed. Go to https://thirdiron.com/libkey-nomad/

Health Promotion

Reference Universe

Librarian

Academic Search Complete

Reference Books

Databases