LibGuides: Wound Care: Resources

Books

Clinical Guide to Wound Care by Cathy T. Hess
ISBN: 1582551693
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
This text provides an all-in-one portable guide to wound care, healing strategies and wound care products.
Healing Wounds, Healthy Skin by Madhuri Reddy; Rebecca Cottrill
ISBN: 9780300171006
Publication Date: 2011-08-23
A comprehensive, accessible, authoritative guide on chronic wounds and how best to treat them
Nurse to Nurse Wound Care by Donna Scemons; Denise Elston
ISBN: 9780071642774
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Written by the chair of the Education Committee of the Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nursing Association, this is the first text on wound care to be both comprehensive in scope yet small enough to fit into a lab coat pocket.
Nursing Clinics of North America: Wound Care by Barbara Pieper
ISBN: 1416027378
Publication Date: 2005-06-30
This issue on Wound Care discusses the wound process and healing. It also discusses the impact of microorganisms on chronic pressure ulcers and leg ulcers and the need for antibiotic therapy.
Wound Care by Carrie Sussman; Barbara Bates-Jensen (Editor)
ISBN: 0781774446
Publication Date: 2006-12-07
Designed for health care professionals in multiple disciplines and clinical settings, this comprehensive, evidence-based wound care text provides basic and advanced information on wound healing and therapies and emphasizes clinical decision-making.

Websites

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains 6,550 full-text journals (with 5,890 of them peer-reviewed). Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Subject Coverage:
animal science, anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, science, technology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology
Dates of Coverage:
PDF content dating back as far as 1887
Update Frequency:
daily
Size:
over 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals
CINAHL {Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature} This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes and abstracts more than 900 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software.
Subject Coverage:
nursing and allied health
Dates of Coverage:
1982 to present
1986 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 670,000 records
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Library of Medicine and covers journal literature published internationally in all areas of medicine.
Subject Coverage:
experimental medicine, clinical medicine, nursing, psychiatry, health services administration, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, education, pathology, veterinary medicine
Dates of Coverage:
1965 to present
1975 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 12,000,000 records
more than 4,800 biomedical journals
Note:
Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities.
PubMed (for MSU) This link opens in a new window
Is a huge index database for biomedical literature maintained by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This link is to a customized version for Morehead State University which allows for quick links within the interface to articles from the online journals to which the library subscribes.
Subject Coverage:
medicine and biology
Dates of Coverage:
varies by journal title
Update Frequency:
varies by journal title
Size:
more than 23 million citations

Note:
Recommended for users of Chrome - LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that makes linking to full-text easier in PubMed. Go to https://thirdiron.com/libkey-nomad/
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is a digital archive of peer-reviewed life sciences journal literature written in English that was created and is maintained by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Subject Coverage:
life sciences
Dates of Coverage:
varies by journal title
Update Frequency:
varies by journal title
Size:
more than 7 million articles
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A clinical decision support resource which includes access to over 11,000 topics in over 22 specialties.
"UptoDate is a well-known resource in the medical field. This database functions as a clinical decision support tool providing quick access to information that can help the clinician at the bedside. The information provided in each of the many clinical topics is considered evidence-based and has gone through a peer-review process before the summary of findings is presented. Additional tools such as drug interaction monitoring, clinical calculators, images, and practice changing updates are also highly sought after in the community of medical and health science users."
-- review from ccAdvisor

Journals

Burns
From ScienceDirect: "Burns aims to foster the exchange of information among all engaged in preventing and treating the effects of burns."
Indian Journal of Burns
From the journal: "The Official publication of NABI is the Indian Journal of Burns (IJB), an annual journal that showcases pioneering work in burn care, publishes research articles and encourages the concept of setting standards of care based on evidence based medicine."
Scars, Burns, and Healing
From SAGE Journals: "Scars, Burns & Healing is a peer reviewed, open access journal which focusses on scar and burns research with the breadth of the science and medicine related to healing."
Wound Repair and Regeneration
Most recent 1 year not available. From Wiley: "Wound Repair and Regeneration provides extensive international coverage of cellular and molecular biology, connective tissue, and biological mediator studies in the field of tissue repair and regeneration and serves a diverse audience of surgeons, plastic surgeons, dermatologists, biochemists, cell biologists, and others."

Wound Care: Resources

Books

Websites

Databases

Journals

Video