LibGuides: Oncology: Resources

Books

Gynaecological Oncology by Mahmood I. Shafi (Editor); Helena M. Earl (Editor); Li Tee Tan (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521730242
Publication Date: 2009-12-03
Providing a thorough overview of the full range of gynaecological cancers,
Oncology Nursing in the Ambulatory Setting by Patricia Corcoran Buchsel; Connie Henke Yarbro
ISBN: 0763714747
Publication Date: 2004-08-09
This comprehensive work was developed by multidisciplinary oncology experts and is written exclusively for oncology nurses working in ambulatory settings and administrators managing outpatient settings.
Practical Geriatric Oncology by Arti Hurria; Harvey Jay Cohen
ISBN: 051191850X
Putting Evidence into Practice by Linda Eaton (Editor); Janelle Tipton (Editor)
ISBN: 9781890504847
Publication Date: 2009-05-01
Includes Putting Evidence into Practice resources, assessment and measurement tools, and ideas for patient care in regards to Oncology.

Websites

Databases

CINAHL {Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature} This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes and abstracts more than 900 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software.
Subject Coverage:
nursing and allied health
Dates of Coverage:
1982 to present
1986 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 670,000 records
Global Cancer Observatory This link opens in a new window
Offers an interactive web-based platform presenting global cancer statistics to inform cancer control and cancer research. The platform focuses on the visualization of cancer indicators to illustrate the changing scale, epidemiological profile, and impact of the disease worldwide.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Library of Medicine and covers journal literature published internationally in all areas of medicine.
Subject Coverage:
experimental medicine, clinical medicine, nursing, psychiatry, health services administration, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, education, pathology, veterinary medicine
Dates of Coverage:
1965 to present
1975 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 12,000,000 records
more than 4,800 biomedical journals
Note:
Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities.
PubMed (for MSU) This link opens in a new window
Is a huge index database for biomedical literature maintained by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This link is to a customized version for Morehead State University which allows for quick links within the interface to articles from the online journals to which the library subscribes.
Subject Coverage:
medicine and biology
Dates of Coverage:
varies by journal title
Update Frequency:
varies by journal title
Size:
more than 23 million citations

Note:
Recommended for users of Chrome - LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that makes linking to full-text easier in PubMed. Go to https://thirdiron.com/libkey-nomad/
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is a digital archive of peer-reviewed life sciences journal literature written in English that was created and is maintained by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Subject Coverage:
life sciences
Dates of Coverage:
varies by journal title
Update Frequency:
varies by journal title
Size:
more than 7 million articles
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A clinical decision support resource which includes access to over 11,000 topics in over 22 specialties.
"UptoDate is a well-known resource in the medical field. This database functions as a clinical decision support tool providing quick access to information that can help the clinician at the bedside. The information provided in each of the many clinical topics is considered evidence-based and has gone through a peer-review process before the summary of findings is presented. Additional tools such as drug interaction monitoring, clinical calculators, images, and practice changing updates are also highly sought after in the community of medical and health science users."
-- review from ccAdvisor

Journals

Asian Oncology Nursing
From the journal: An official publication of the Korean Oncology Nursing Society (KAMJE).
Asia-Pacific Journal of Oncology Nursing
From the Asian Oncology Nursing Society: "Asia-Pacific Journal of Oncology Nursing is the official journal of Asian Oncology Nursing Society"
Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing
Most recent 1 year not available. From ResearchGate: "The Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing delivers concise, clinically focused articles nurses can use in everyday practice while providing opportunities for continuing education in every issue."
International Journal of Cancer
From Wiley: "The International Journal of Cancer (IJC) is the official journal of the Union for International Cancer Control (UICC)."
Neuro-Oncology Practice
From Oxford Academic: "Neuro-Oncology Practice focuses on the clinical aspects of the subspecialty for practicing clinicians and healthcare specialists from a variety of disciplines who have focused their careers on clinical patient care, and who want to apply the latest treatment advances to their practice."
Oncology Nursing Forum
Most recent 1 year not available. From Ovid: "An official publication of the Oncology Nursing Society. It conveys information related to practice, technology, education, research, and leadership."
Seminars in Oncology Nursing
From ScienceDirect: "Each issue [of Seminars in Oncology Nursing] offers a multi-faceted overview of a single cancer topic from a selection of expert review articles and disseminates oncology nursing research relevant to patient care, nursing education, management, and policy development."