LibGuides: Mental Health: Resources

Books

Basic Concepts of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing by Louise Rebraca Shives
ISBN: 9780781797078
Publication Date: 2007-02-12
The Seventh Edition of this respected learning text delivers the clinically essential content psychiatric and mental health nurses need to practice with confidence.
Introduction to Mental Health Nursing by Nick Wrycraft
ISBN: 9780335233588
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
A comprehensive and reader friendly text that offers students a great introduction and insight into the modern world of mental health nursing.
Learning Disabilities and Mental Health by Raghu Raghavan; Pradip R. Patel
ISBN: 1405106158
Publication Date: 2005-10-21
Learning disabilities and mental health: a nursing perspective provides an evidence-based perspective on care of individuals with learning disabilities and mental health problems.
Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing by Katherine M. Fortinash; Patricia A. Holoday Worret
ISBN: 9780323046756
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Focusing on what psychiatric nurses actually do in everyday practice, this full-color text covers all of the most common disorders and treatments.
Mental Health Nursing by MaryAnn Hogan
ISBN: 9780132956871
Publication Date: 2012-02-23
This text provides a clear, concentrated review of "need to know" knowledge for effective psychiatric and mental health nursing.
Scope and Standards of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing Practice by American Nurses Association Staff (Contribution by); American Psychiatric Nurses Association Staff (Contribution by); International Society of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurses Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 1558101535
Publication Date: 2000-10-01

Websites

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains 6,550 full-text journals (with 5,890 of them peer-reviewed). Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Subject Coverage:
animal science, anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, science, technology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology
Dates of Coverage:
PDF content dating back as far as 1887
Update Frequency:
daily
Size:
over 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, technical reports, monographic series, dissertations, and other materials relating to psychology. Articles are selected from more than 1,500 journals published in 35 languages.
Subject Coverage:
psychology & related fields
Dates of Coverage:
1600s to present
Update Frequency:
weekly
Size:
more than 5 million records
Notes:
Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
Has one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry
Offers options for searching on Cited References
Training Videos: https://www.youtube.com/c/APAPublishingTraining/videos
CINAHL {Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature} This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes and abstracts more than 900 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software.
Subject Coverage:
nursing and allied health
Dates of Coverage:
1982 to present
1986 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 670,000 records
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Has nearly 470 online full-text titles. Comprehensive searches are better done in PsycINFO which includes linking to these titles.
Subject Coverage:
anthropology, behavior, emotions, experimental methods, mental processes, observational methods, psychiatry, psychology
Dates of Coverage:
not available
Update Frequency:
not available
Size:
not available
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers the full text to the complete runs of more than 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). For comprehensive searching of psychology journals (beyond just the APA titles) use PsycINFO.
Subject Coverage:
psychology
Dates of Coverage:
1894 to present
Update Frequency:
unknown
Size:
more than 150,000 records
PubMed (for MSU) This link opens in a new window
Is a huge index database for biomedical literature maintained by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This link is to a customized version for Morehead State University which allows for quick links within the interface to articles from the online journals to which the library subscribes.
Subject Coverage:
medicine and biology
Dates of Coverage:
varies by journal title
Update Frequency:
varies by journal title
Size:
more than 23 million citations

Note:
Recommended for users of Chrome - LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that makes linking to full-text easier in PubMed. Go to https://thirdiron.com/libkey-nomad/
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A clinical decision support resource which includes access to over 11,000 topics in over 22 specialties.
"UptoDate is a well-known resource in the medical field. This database functions as a clinical decision support tool providing quick access to information that can help the clinician at the bedside. The information provided in each of the many clinical topics is considered evidence-based and has gone through a peer-review process before the summary of findings is presented. Additional tools such as drug interaction monitoring, clinical calculators, images, and practice changing updates are also highly sought after in the community of medical and health science users."
-- review from ccAdvisor

Journals

Archives of Psychiatric Nursing
From ScienceDirect: "Archives of Psychiatric Nursing disseminates original, peer-reviewed research that is of interest to psychiatric and mental health care nurses."
Indian Journal of Social Psychiatry
From the journal: "The Indian Association for Social Psychiatry (IASP) is the culmination of the collective effort of mental health professionals across....to create a platform for exploration, discussion, research and action on the social determinants and correlates of mental health."
Journal of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association
From SAGE journals: "
About this journal
The Journal of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association (JAPNA) is a peer-reviewed bi-monthly journal publishing up-to-date information to promote psychiatric nursing, improve mental health care for culturally diverse individuals, families, groups, and communities, as well as shape health care policy for the delivery of mental health services."
Mental Illness
From Emerald Publishing: "Mental Illness is an online-only, international, Open Access peer-reviewed journal which publishes scientific papers concerning the latest advances in the diagnosis and treatment of mental illness. "
Perspectives in Psychiatric Care
From Wiley: "The journal provides advanced practice nurses with current research, clinical application, and knowledge about psychiatric nursing, prescriptive treatment, and education."