LibGuides: Geriatrics: Resources

Websites

Journals

Annals of Geriatric Medicine and Research
As described by the journal: "[It is] a peer-reviewed journal that aims to introduce new knowledge related to geriatric medicine and to provide a forum for the analysis of gerontology, broadly defined."
Geriatric Nursing
From ScienceDirect: "Geriatric Nursing is a comprehensive source for clinical information and management advice relating to the care of older adults. The journal's peer-reviewed articles report the latest developments in the management of acute and chronic disorders and provide practical advice on care of older adults across the long term continuum."
Geriatric Orthopaedic Surgery & Rehabilitation
From SAGE journals: "
About this journal
Geriatric Orthopaedic Surgery & Rehabilitation (GOS) is a peer-reviewed open access journal that provides clinical information concerning musculoskeletal conditions affecting geriatric orthopaedic patients.
International Journal of Older People Nursing
From the journal: "International Journal of Older People Nursing is an online peer-reviewed quarterly journal providing an international forum for advancing knowledge and practice in gerontological nursing."
Journal of Geriatric Mental Health
From the Indian Association of Geriatric Mental Health: "Journal of Geriatric Mental Health is an International Journal that aims to enhance the mental health care of elderly/geriatric subjects."
The Online Journal of Issues in Nursing
From the journal: "OJIN is a peer-reviewed, online publication that addresses current topics affecting nursing practice, research, education, and the wider health care sector."

Databases

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, technical reports, monographic series, dissertations, and other materials relating to psychology. Articles are selected from more than 1,500 journals published in 35 languages.
Subject Coverage:
psychology & related fields
Dates of Coverage:
1600s to present
Update Frequency:
weekly
Size:
more than 5 million records
Notes:
Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
Has one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry
Offers options for searching on Cited References
Training Videos: https://www.youtube.com/c/APAPublishingTraining/videos
CINAHL {Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature} This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes and abstracts more than 900 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software.
Subject Coverage:
nursing and allied health
Dates of Coverage:
1982 to present
1986 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 670,000 records
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Library of Medicine and covers journal literature published internationally in all areas of medicine.
Subject Coverage:
experimental medicine, clinical medicine, nursing, psychiatry, health services administration, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, education, pathology, veterinary medicine
Dates of Coverage:
1965 to present
1975 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 12,000,000 records
more than 4,800 biomedical journals
Note:
Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities.
Ovid Journals This link opens in a new window
An aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
PubMed (for MSU) This link opens in a new window
Is a huge index database for biomedical literature maintained by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This link is to a customized version for Morehead State University which allows for quick links within the interface to articles from the online journals to which the library subscribes.
Subject Coverage:
medicine and biology
Dates of Coverage:
varies by journal title
Update Frequency:
varies by journal title
Size:
more than 23 million citations

Note:
Recommended for users of Chrome - LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that makes linking to full-text easier in PubMed. Go to https://thirdiron.com/libkey-nomad/
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A clinical decision support resource which includes access to over 11,000 topics in over 22 specialties.
"UptoDate is a well-known resource in the medical field. This database functions as a clinical decision support tool providing quick access to information that can help the clinician at the bedside. The information provided in each of the many clinical topics is considered evidence-based and has gone through a peer-review process before the summary of findings is presented. Additional tools such as drug interaction monitoring, clinical calculators, images, and practice changing updates are also highly sought after in the community of medical and health science users."
-- review from ccAdvisor