It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In this text, Fiona Timmins integrates the findings of nursing research with key aspects of the nurse's role. She provides an evidence-based rationale for the best ways of improving cardiac care (in general and for specific conditions), describes important nursing initiatives to reduce the risk factors and presents a needs-based approach to patient education.
This book describes and discusses the latest research concerning the benefits of having specially trained nurses manage the care of patients with heart failure after they have been discharged from hospital to their own home.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes and abstracts more than 900 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software.
nursing and allied health
Dates of Coverage:
1982 to present
1986 to present (for records with abstracts)
Is a huge index database for biomedical literature maintained by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This link is to a customized version for Morehead State University which allows for quick links within the interface to articles from the online journals to which the library subscribes.
medicine and biology
Dates of Coverage:
varies by journal title
varies by journal title
more than 23 million citations
Recommended for users of Chrome - LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that makes linking to full-text easier in PubMed. Go to https://thirdiron.com/libkey-nomad/
A clinical decision support resource which includes access to over 11,000 topics in over 22 specialties.
"UptoDate is a well-known resource in the medical field. This database functions as a clinical decision support tool providing quick access to information that can help the clinician at the bedside. The information provided in each of the many clinical topics is considered evidence-based and has gone through a peer-review process before the summary of findings is presented. Additional tools such as drug interaction monitoring, clinical calculators, images, and practice changing updates are also highly sought after in the community of medical and health science users."
-- review from ccAdvisor
Most recent 1 year not available. From Oxford Academic: "Cardiovascular Research is the international journal of the European Society of Cardiology for basic and translational research, spanning all topics within cardiology and cardiovascular biology."
From the American Heart Association: "Includes articles related to research in and the practice of clinical cardiac electrophysiology and the diagnosis and management of cardiac arrhythmias, including observational studies, clinical trials, epidemiology, and advances in applied (translational) research."
Most recent 1 year not available. From ResearchGate: "This journal brings together basic research on the cardiovascular system from various disciplines including biology, biochemistry, biophysics, cellular biology, molecular biology, morphology, pathology, physiology, and pharmacology."
From the Preventive Cardiovascular Nurses Association: "Official journal of the Preventive Cardiovascular Nurses Association, Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing is one of the leading journals for advanced practice nurses in cardiovascular care, providing thorough coverage of timely topics and information that is extremely practical for daily, on-the-job use."
From Scimago Journal & Country Rank: "Progress in Cardiovascular Nursing is a peer-reviewed quarterly publication providing readers with information on the most current advances in cardiovascular nursing, comprehensive reviews of the current literature on clinical practice and research, case studies, drug therapy, and the results of clinical trials."
From the American Heart Association: "Stroke publishes reports of clinical and basic investigation of any aspect of the cerebral circulation and its diseases from many disciplines, including anesthesiology, critical care medicine, epidemiology, internal medicine, neurology, neuro-ophthalmology, neuropathology, neuropsychology, neurosurgery, nuclear medicine, nursing, radiology, rehabilitation, speech pathology, vascular physiology, and vascular surgery."