LibGuides: Alternative, Complementary, and Integrative Therapies: Resources

Websites

Journals

Alternative Therapies in Health & Medicine
From the journal's website: "Each issue contains a variety of disciplined inquiry methods, from case reports to original scientific research to systematic reviews. The editors encourage the integration of evidence-based emerging therapies with conventional medical practices by licensed health care providers in a way that promotes a comprehensive approach to health care that is focused on wellness, prevention, and healing."
Complementary Therapies in Clinical Practice
From ScienceDirect: "Formerly known as Complementary Therapies in Nursing and Midwifery;
Complementary Therapies in Clinical Practice is an internationally refereed journal published to meet the broad ranging needs of the healthcare profession in the effective and professional integration of complementary therapies within clinical practice."
Holistic Nursing Practice
From Wolters Kluwer: "Holistic Nursing Practice (HNP), The Science of Health and Healing, is a peer-reviewed bimonthly journal that explores holistic models of nursing practice. Content emphasizes complementary traditional and holistic nursing and healthcare practices. Articles include theory-based interventions and their outcomes, including: innovations in holistic nursing practice; research related to holistic nursing practice, health care, and policy; and values and ethical-legal issues related to holistic nursing practices. The holistic approach is a worldview that emphasizes the potential for health and healing in human systems rather than on disease process and deficit."
Integrative Cancer Therapies
From SAGE journals: "Integrative Cancer Therapies (ICT) is a peer-reviewed open access journal which focuses on a comprehensive model of integrative cancer treatment with an emphasis on scientific understanding of alternative and traditional medicine therapies."
Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine
From SAGE journals: "The Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine (JEBIM) is a peer-reviewed open access journal which focuses on hypothesis-driven and evidence-based research in all fields of integrative medicine. Previously the Journal of Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine (JEBCAM)."
Journal of Holistic Nursing
From SAGE journals: 'Journal of Holistic Nursing (JHN) is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal with a focus on advancing the science and practice of holistic nursing and healthcare. JHN provides a forum for caring and innovative nurses in clinical practice, research, individual wellness practice, and academia to exchange critical information, share clinical and personal experiences, and communicate research pertaining to holistic nursing practice, health care, wellness, healing, and human potential.

Databases

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, technical reports, monographic series, dissertations, and other materials relating to psychology. Articles are selected from more than 1,500 journals published in 35 languages.
Subject Coverage:
psychology & related fields
Dates of Coverage:
1600s to present
Update Frequency:
weekly
Size:
more than 5 million records
Notes:
Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
Has one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry
Offers options for searching on Cited References
Training Videos: https://www.youtube.com/c/APAPublishingTraining/videos
CINAHL {Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature} This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes and abstracts more than 900 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software.
Subject Coverage:
nursing and allied health
Dates of Coverage:
1982 to present
1986 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 670,000 records
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Users can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, magazine articles, pamphlets, videos, and animations.
Subject Coverage:
aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health
Dates of Coverage:
unknown
Update Frequency:
unknown
Size:
more than 5000 publications
more than 500 pamphlets
more than 200 reference books
several hundred videos and animations
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Library of Medicine and covers journal literature published internationally in all areas of medicine.
Subject Coverage:
experimental medicine, clinical medicine, nursing, psychiatry, health services administration, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, education, pathology, veterinary medicine
Dates of Coverage:
1965 to present
1975 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 12,000,000 records
more than 4,800 biomedical journals
Note:
Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities.
PubMed (for MSU) This link opens in a new window
Is a huge index database for biomedical literature maintained by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This link is to a customized version for Morehead State University which allows for quick links within the interface to articles from the online journals to which the library subscribes.
Subject Coverage:
medicine and biology
Dates of Coverage:
varies by journal title
Update Frequency:
varies by journal title
Size:
more than 23 million citations

Note:
Recommended for users of Chrome - LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that makes linking to full-text easier in PubMed. Go to https://thirdiron.com/libkey-nomad/
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A clinical decision support resource which includes access to over 11,000 topics in over 22 specialties.
"UptoDate is a well-known resource in the medical field. This database functions as a clinical decision support tool providing quick access to information that can help the clinician at the bedside. The information provided in each of the many clinical topics is considered evidence-based and has gone through a peer-review process before the summary of findings is presented. Additional tools such as drug interaction monitoring, clinical calculators, images, and practice changing updates are also highly sought after in the community of medical and health science users."
-- review from ccAdvisor