This service provides free articles, books, and media to MSU faculty/staff/students. Whether it's from another library, or from our own collection; all you need to do is place the request, select your pick up or delivery method (restrictions apply), and we'll let you know when it arrives. For more information, please visit our service page.
Uncover the magic and truth behind this compelling topic.In more than 480 entries, ""The Encyclopedia of Witches, Witchcraft, and Wicca, Third Edition"" is an exciting update to one of the landmark references on the subject - by paranormal expert Rosemary Ellen Guiley. This new edition provides unparalleled coverage of witchcraft practices around the world - spanning different time periods and societies - including entries on magic, shamanism, the occult, and wizardry. Now covering Wicca-related material not included in the previous editions, as well as updates of contemporary biographies and Wicca material, this encyclopedia is perfect for casual readers and those fascinated by this spellbinding topic. All material has been expanded considerably, providing updates and new information about the key topics of witchcraft.The new and revised coverage includes: a treatment of the Inquisition; biographies of contemporary Wiccans; ""Book of Shadows""; familiars; folklore relating to witchcraft; historical cases of witchcraft trials; magic and Wicca; salem witches; Wicca practices, rituals, beliefs, and traditions; and, witches in entertainment: films, television, stage, and popular fiction.
From the number one New York Times bestselling author comes another stunning memoir that is tender, touching...and just a little spooky. "Here's a partial list of things I don't believe in: God. The Devil. Heaven. Hell. Bigfoot. Ancient Aliens. Past lives. Life after death. Vampires. Zombies. Reiki. Homeopathy. Rolfing. Reflexology. Note that 'witches' and 'witchcraft' are absent from this list. The thing is, I wouldn't believe in them, and I would privately ridicule any idiot who did, except for one thing: I am a witch." For as long as Augusten Burroughs could remember, he knew things he shouldn't have known. He manifested things that shouldn't have come to pass. And he told exactly no one about this, save one person: his mother. His mother reassured him that it was all perfectly normal, that he was descended from a long line of witches, going back to the days of the early American colonies. And that this family tree was filled with witches. It was a bond that he and his mother shared--until the day she left him in the care of her psychiatrist to be raised in his family (but that's a whole other story). After that, Augusten was on his own. On his own to navigate the world of this tricky power; on his own to either use or misuse this gift. From the hilarious to the terrifying, Toil & Trouble is a chronicle of one man's journey to understand himself, to reconcile the powers he can wield with things with which he is helpless. There are very few things that are coincidences, as you will learn in Toil & Trouble. Ghosts are real, trees can want to kill you, beavers are the spawn of Satan, houses are alive, and in the end, love is the most powerful magic of all.
A tiny book of poetic spells connected to elemental forces A tiny book of poetic spells connected to elemental forces East Wings choose the wind; sing us aware; Muse; spin; weave; spell; create in air In this micro-book, acclaimed "Poetry-Witch" Annie Finch harvests her Spells, spun at the intersection of magic, word, and world. These ritual poems invite readers to experience words not just in the mind, but also in the body and spirit. Celebrated for her extraordinary love and knowledge of poetic craft and commitment to female, earth-centered spirituality, Finch has created a haunting innovative voice and radically traditional aesthetic. As she observes in the book's preface, "Like sticky seeds when you brush past, these spells latched onto me, ready to be carried to you--to your power, your contemplative life, your ability to make change. Say them aloud, if you can; say them thrice, if you will. Use them to help you to cast a circle, turn the year, coven, create, invoke." Sample Poem: East Wings choose the wind; sing us aware; Muse; spin; weave; spell; create in air