Skip to main content

DIY Research Guide: 4. Use Articles

Find answers to frequently asked questions.

Updating Your Info

Books and videos take time to publish and produce. To get the most up-to-date information, try reading Academic Journal, Magazine or Newspaper articles, which discuss the latest research findings, popular perspectives, and the latest news on your topic in respective order.

First: A Little Info About Articles

There are many different types of articles out there.  Review the chart below to learn about the context of different articles based on the type of source they come from.

ARTICLE
SOURCE
 
Scholarly
Journals
 
Newspapers
 
Trade or Professional Journals
 
Popular Magazines
                 
PURPOSE   Use for in-depth, original research findings, and peer-reviewed research articles.   Use for current events topics or editorials and opinions dealing with current events.   Offers specialized industry or professional articles that tend to be more practical and applied in nature.   For the general interest reader—these articles are used to inform or entertain.
                 

WHERE YOU CAN FIND THEM

 

 

Academic Search Complete

JSTOR

Science Direct

More Databases arranged by Subject

 

Lexis/Nexis

Newspaper Source

More News Sources

 

Academic Search Complete

Business Source Premier

More Databases arranged by Subject

 

Academic Search Complete

 

Second: Choosing the Right Database

Listed above are just a few of the 100+ databases we have that house articles.  You can search theses databases for articles, just don't be afraid to jump into many different databases to find everything you need.  Your paper topic will determine which library databases to search, because many of our databases cover only one general subject (like psychology). We've broken down our databases by subject to help you find the most relevant databases for your topic.  Use the link below to find databases grouped by subject area.   

    Third: Using Keywords to Search

    In Step 1 you identified the key concepts and brainstormed new keywords fo ryour topic.  You tested those keywords out in Step 2 and Step 3, and now you'll put them to use again as your begin to search the various Library databases.

    In most library databases, including our online catalogs, you must use keywords to retrieve relevant results.  (As opposed to typing in an entire sentence.) The video tutorial below, created by the library at the University of Missouri-St.Louis, explains how to use keywords to effectively search library databases.

    Academic Search Complete

    Academic Search Complete

    Need Help?

    Please enable Javascript to use this chat service.

    You can also contact us by:

    • Phone: 606-783-5491
    • Email: use our Online Email Form
    • Or in person at the Camden-Carroll Library!

    The "Get It" Button

    No full text link? Look for the yellow Get It button:

    The Get It button helps you get the article.

    Follow the link below for instructions on using the button.