Automatically do an interlibrary loan request if the article is not available online or in the library.
What is Peer Review?
It is the quality control system for scholarship. It means that articles in a peer-reviewed journal must be scrutinized by experts before they are published. SYNONYMS = 'academic', 'juried', 'refereed', 'scholarly'.
How can you tell when something is peer-reviewed?
1) When you are looking at a print copy, of an entire issue of a journal, the editorial board of scholars with academic credentials and institutional affiliations will be listed somewhere. These are the 'peers' that review each published article.
2) Use a check box limit in your database search (when available).
Indexes more than 200 key international English-language arts publications. It includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, and film reviews.
archeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer applications, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, video
Is an online archive of scholarly journals which contains high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Journals span continents and languages, with titles from 1,200 publishers from 57 countries. Contains also scholarly e-books, primary sources, and an image collection.
covers many subject areas
Dates of Coverage:
varies by title (1665 is the earliest year covered)
varies by title
more than 2,800 journals
There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
Indexes more than 4,400 journals along with books, chapters, collections, and dissertations in the broad areas of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides full text for 1,000 journals including a 3-year backfile of the top 100 journals and extensive backfiles to Volume 1, Issue 1 for over 45 journals.
literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, dramatic arts, and literary theory
Dates of Coverage:
1926 to present
ten times annually (45,000 records are added annually)
more than 2,800,000 records
The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus are also included.