Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Listed below are just a few books on general topics surrounding feminism.
Classics and Feminism: gendering the classics by
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 480 M167C
Publication Date: 1997-03-21
SUBJECTS: Classical philology -- Study and teaching -- Social aspects -- United States; Classical philology -- Study and teaching -- United States -- Sex differences; Civilization, Classical -- Study and teaching -- Sex differences; Women -- Greece -- History -- To 500 -- Historiography; Women -- Rome -- History -- To 500 -- Historiography; Feminism and education -- United States; Women classicists -- United States; Women -- Education -- United States; Women and literature -- Greece; Women and literature -- Rome
Connecting Girls and Science: constructivism, feminism, and science education reform by
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 305.4201 D416s
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
Description: 1. Dual Influences: Where Science Education Reform and Feminism Converge -- 2. Studying Prenatal Testing: Connection and Alienation -- 3. To Be a Good Scientist: Objectivity and Empathy -- 4. To Be a Good Scientist: Science and Social Responsibility -- 5. Genuine Conversation Through Studying Bioethics -- 6. Listening as Pedagogy and Research
Critical Condition: feminism at the turn of the century by
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 305.4201 D416s
Publication Date: 2000-02-03
Description: Introduction -- Women artists and contemporary racechanges -- Lesbian studies 101 (as taught by creative writers) -- Eating the bread of affliction : Judaism and feminism -- The graying of Professor Erma Bombeck -- What ails feminist criticism? -- Feminist misogyny; or, The paradox of "It takes one to know one" -- A chapter on the future.
Feminism, Femininity and Popular Culture by
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 305.42 H745f
Publication Date: 2000-02-10
Description: Part I Introduction -- 1 Second-wave feminism and femininity 2 -- 2 Feminism, cultural studies and popular culture 19 Part II Women's genres: texts and audiences -- 3 Film studies and the woman's film 38 -- 4 Reading romantic fiction 68 -- 5 Soap operas and their audiences 89 Part III Consumption practices and cultural identities -- 6 Consumption and material culture 112 -- 7 Fashion and beauty practices 137 -- 8 Youth cultures and popular music 161 Part IV Conclusions -- 9 Feminism in popular culture 190.
Feminism: A Very Short Introduction by
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 305.4209 W235f
Publication Date: 2006-01-12
"In this Very Short Introduction, Margaret Walters looks at the development of feminism, exploring its earliest roots as well as key issues such as voting rights, the liberation of the Sixties, and whether feminist thought remains relevant today. She brings the subject completely up to date by providing an analysis of the current situation of women across the globe from Europe and the US to the Third World."--BOOK JACKET.
Feminism and History by
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 305.4209 F329
Publication Date: 1996-05-23
CHAPTERS: Does a sex have a history? / The dialects of Black womanhood / Theorizing woman:Funu, Guojia, Jiating (Chinese women, Chinese state, Chinese family) / 'Women's history' in transition: the European case / The traffic in women: notes on the 'political economy' of sex / Gender: a useful category of historical analysis / African-American women's history and the metalanguge of race / Carnal knowledge
Feminism and Politics by
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Description: Politics an unnatural practice: political science looks at female participation / Susan Bourque and Jean Grossholtz -- Homeless in international relations? 'women's' place in canonical texts and feminist reimaginings / Christine Sylvester -- Feminist studies and political science, and vice versa / Virginia Sapiro -- 'Mere auxiliaries to the Commonwealth': women and the origins of liberalism / Teresa Brennan and Carole Pateman -- Gender, the public, and the private / Susan Moller Okin -- Feminism and democracy / Jane Mansbridge -- When are interests interesting? the problem of political representation of women / Virginia Sapiro -- Beyond interests in politics: a comment on Virginia Sapiro's 'When are interests interesting? the problem of political representation of women' / Irene Diamond and Nancy Hartsock -- 'Women's interests' and the poststructuralist state / Rosemary Pringle and Sophie Watson -- Democracy and representation: or, Why should it matter who our representatives are? / Anne Phillips -- Coalition politics: turning the century / Bernice Johnson Reagon -- Feminist encounters: locating the politics of experience / Chandra Talpade Mohanty -- Subjects of sex/gender/desire / Judith Butler -- Difference and dominance: on sex discrimination / Catharine MacKinnon -- Demarginalizing the intersection of race and sex: a Black feminist critique of antidiscrimination doctrine, feminist theory, and antiracist politics / Kimberle Crenshaw -- The politics of paradigms: gender difference and gender disadvantage / Deborah L. Rhode -- Antigone's daughters / Jean Bethke Elshtain -- Context is all: feminism and theories of citizenship / Mary G. Dietz -- Polity and group difference: a critique of the ideal of universal citizenship / Iris Marion Young -- From redistribution to recognition? dilemmas of justice in a 'post-socialist' age / Nancy Fraser.
Full Frontal Feminism: a young woman's guide to why feminism matters by
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 305.42 W258N
Publication Date: 2007-04-17
CHAPTERS: 1. You're a hardcore feminist, I swear -- 2. Feminists do it better (and other sex tips) -- 3. Pop culture gone wild -- 4. The blame (and shame) game -- 5. If these uterine walls could talk -- 6. Material world -- 7. My big fat unnecessary wedding and other dating diseases -- 8. "Real" women have babies -- 9. I promise I won't say "herstory" -- 10. Boys do cry -- 11. Beauty cult -- 12. Sex and the City voters my ass -- 13. A quick academic aside -- 14. Get to it.
Home Girls by
Call Number: 305.48896073 H765 2000
Publication Date: 2000-03-01
The pioneering anthology Home Girls features writings by Black feminist and lesbian activists on topics both provocative and profound. Since its initial publication in 1983, it has become an essential text on Black women's lives and writings. This edition features an updated list of contributor biographies and an all-new preface that provides a fresh assessment of how Black women's lives have changed-or not-since the book was first published. Contributors are Tania Abdulahad, Donna Allegra, Barbara A. Banks, Becky Birtha, Julie Carter, Cenen, Cheryl Clarke, Michelle Cliff, Michelle T. Clinton, Willie M. Coleman, Toi Derricotte, Alexis De Veaux, Jewelle L. Gomez, Akasha (Gloria) Hull, Patricia Jones, June Jordan, Audre Lorde, Raymina Y. Mays, Deidre McCalla, Chirlane McCray, Pat Parker, Linda C. Powell, Bernice Johnson Reagon, Spring Redd, Gwendolyn Rogers, Kate Rushin, Ann Allen Shockley, Barbara Smith, Beverly Smith, Shirley O. Steele, Luisah Teish, Jameelah Waheed, Alice Walker, and Renita Weems.
Remembering Conquest by
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 305.4209172 R386
Publication Date: 1999-12-02
Remembering Conquest: Feminist/Womanist Perspectives on Religion, Colonization, and Sexual Violence addresses the issue of sexual violence against women from feminist and womanist theological perspectives. Taken from proceedings of a panel discussion at the 1998 annual meeting of the American Academy of Religion, this informative book offers sociologists, clergy, and women an examination of how negative stereotypes in society are derived from Christian perspectives and other religions. Exploring abuse against Native American, African- American, Filipino, and Thai women, Remembering Conquest will help you recognize the combination of issues that lead to violence against women. Thorough and compelling, this valuable book will urge you to advocate for change in how religious groups interpret women so that religion can provide a moral and ethical source of equality for women instead of a social barrier. This intelligent book will help you understand the changes that need to be made as you read about numerous atrocities, including: the history of violence experienced by American Indian women during colonization and realizing that prior to this time, sexual violence did not exist in American Indian societies how the United States'colonization of Thailand is directly related to sexual violence today against women, which is expressed in the form of the booming sex industry as well as the AIDS epidemic how poverty in the Philippines has made women and children second-class citizens who must makethe ultimate sacrifice and sell their bodies and their souls to survive Remembering Conquest provides you with a unique religious perspective on the subject of violence against women to enlighten you as to how religion can unknowingly help or hinder a woman's healing. You will discover how to assist religious communities in rediscovering new interpretations of their faith traditions and become a moral and ethical source of liberation for women, such as holding perpetrators of abuse responsible for their actions and not insinuating that the abuse victim needs to be "helped" by religion in some way. Compelling and informative, Remembering Conquest provides you with ideas to help bring healing and power to women who are suffering injustices by reinterpreting faith traditions.
Skeptical Feminism: activist theory, activist practice by
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 305.4201 D416s
Publication Date: 2003-12-12
Description: Introduction: Feminism, in Theory -- 1. The Future of an Ideal: Consciousness and the Radical Vision of Women's Liberation -- 2. The Activist Unconscious: Feminism and Psychoanalysis -- 3. The Feminist Body Politic: Sexuality's Domestic Incarnation -- 4. The Feminist Abject: Death, Fiction, and Theory -- 5. Obstructive Behavior: Dykes in the Mainstream of Feminist Theory -- Conclusion: Left Justified.
Transformations: thinking through feminism by
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 305.42 T772
Publication Date: 2000-11-07
Description: Introduction : Thinking through feminism / Sara Ahmed ... [et al.] -- The rhetorical affects of feminism. Introduction / Beverley Skeggs ; The subject of true feeling : pain, privacy and politics / Lauren Berlant -- ; Shaming theory, thinking dis-connections : feminism and reconciliation / Elspeth Probyn ; Owned sufferings : thinking the feminist political imagination with Simone de Beauvoir and Richard Wright / Vikki Bell ; Unifying forces : rhetorical reflections on a pro-choice image / Karyn Sandlos ; Luce Irigaray's sexuate rights and the politics of performativity / Penelope Deutscher --Boundaries and connections. Introduction / Sara Ahmed ; Claiming transformation : travel notes with pictures / Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak ; From politics of identity to politics of complexity : a possible research agenda for feminist politics/movements across time and space / Ngai-ling Sum ; Operatic karaoke and the pitfalls of identity politics : a translated performance / Sneja Gunew ; Crossing boundaries : rethinking/teaching identity / Gail Ching-Liang Low -- Knowledges and disciplines. Introduction / Maureen McNeil ; Forays of a philosophical feminist : sexual difference, genealogy, teleology / Joanna Hodge ; Philosophy and the feminist imagination / Jean Grimshaw ; Still telling it like it is? Problems of feminist truth claims / Caroline Ramazanoglu and Janet Holland -- Techno-triumphalism, techno-tourism, American dreams and feminism / Maureen McNeil ; Nuclear families : women's narratives of the making of the atomic bomb / Carol Wolkowitz -- Subject matters. Introduction / Jane Kilby and Celia Lury ; Objects of innovation : post-occupational reflexivity and re-traditionalisations of gender / Lisa Adkins ; Consumerism and 'compulsory individuality' : women, will and potential / Anne M. Cronin ; Reframing pregnant embodiment / Imogen Tyler ; Monsters, marvels and metaphysiscs : beyond the powers of horror / Margrit Shildrik ; Belonging and unbelonging : transformations of memory in the photographs of Virginia Woolf / Maggie Humm.
Trappings: stories of women, power and clothing by
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 305.4209 L948T
Publication Date: 2007-10-17
SUBJECTS: Women -- United States -- Social conditions; Power (Social sciences) -- United States; Women's clothing -- United States; Women -- United States -- Interviews
Worlds of Women: the making of an international women's movement by
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 305.4209 R946W
Publication Date: 1997-12-14
SUBJECTS: Feminism -- International cooperation -- History; Women's rights -- International cooperation -- History; Women -- Political activity -- History; Women -- Societies and clubs -- History