Most professors will not want you to cite Wikipedia in a scholarly paper.
Using authoritative encyclopedias like what you find in our e-book encyclopedia list allows you to obtain background information that you can actually cite in your own work.
CRS is Congress’ think tank, and its reports are relied upon by academics, businesses, judges, policy advocates, students, librarians, journalists, and policymakers for accurate and timely analysis of important policy issues. The reports are not classified and do not contain individualized advice to any specific member of Congress.
Dates of Coverage:
mid 1990s to the present
Update Frequency:
unknown
Size:
more than 8,300 reports
Note:
As government information these reports are in the public domain and can be used freely without concerns over copyright.
Is a topical weekly publication that explores a single "hot" issue in-depth. Each weekly report seeks to be an objective, balanced treatment of the topic and runs approximately 12,000 words.
Subject Coverage:
social issues, teen issues, the environment, health, education, science, and technology
Dates of Coverage:
October 25, 1991 to present
January 1996 (PDF files included)
January 2001 (color PDF files included)
A resource for debaters that includes pro/con viewpoints, scholarly articles, news articles, streaming audio and video, interactive maps, and infographics. Provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues.
Subject Coverage:
current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, and political science
Dates of Coverage:
unknown
Update Frequency:
weekly
Size:
more than 20,000 pro/con viewpoints and approximately 19,000 reference articles
This link opens in a new window
