LibGuides: Wellness Promotion -- M.A.: Databases

Databases You Can Browse

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is a topical weekly publication that explores a single "hot" issue in-depth. Each weekly report seeks to be an objective, balanced treatment of the topic and runs approximately 12,000 words.
Subject Coverage:
social issues, teen issues, the environment, health, education, science, and technology
Dates of Coverage:
October 25, 1991 to present
January 1996 (PDF files included)
January 2001 (color PDF files included)
Update Frequency:
weekly
Size:
not available
Facts On File: World News Digest This link opens in a new window
Brings together and enhances more than seven decades of domestic and international news.
Subject Coverage:
political, social, and economic news events
Dates of Coverage:
October 1940 to present
Update Frequency:
weekly
Size:
more than 92,000 records
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A resource for debaters that includes pro/con viewpoints, scholarly articles, news articles, streaming audio and video, interactive maps, and infographics. Provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues.
Subject Coverage:
current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, and political science

Dates of Coverage:
unknown

Update Frequency:
weekly

Size:
more than 20,000 pro/con viewpoints and approximately 19,000 reference articles
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A clinical decision support resource which includes access to over 11,000 topics in over 22 specialties.
"UptoDate is a well-known resource in the medical field. This database functions as a clinical decision support tool providing quick access to information that can help the clinician at the bedside. The information provided in each of the many clinical topics is considered evidence-based and has gone through a peer-review process before the summary of findings is presented. Additional tools such as drug interaction monitoring, clinical calculators, images, and practice changing updates are also highly sought after in the community of medical and health science users."
-- review from ccAdvisor

Databases to Search

CINAHL {Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature} This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes and abstracts more than 900 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software.
Subject Coverage:
nursing and allied health
Dates of Coverage:
1982 to present
1986 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 670,000 records
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Users can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, magazine articles, pamphlets, videos, and animations.
Subject Coverage:
aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health
Dates of Coverage:
unknown
Update Frequency:
unknown
Size:
more than 5000 publications
more than 500 pamphlets
more than 200 reference books
several hundred videos and animations
Global Cancer Observatory This link opens in a new window
Offers an interactive web-based platform presenting global cancer statistics to inform cancer control and cancer research. The platform focuses on the visualization of cancer indicators to illustrate the changing scale, epidemiological profile, and impact of the disease worldwide.
Health Source -- Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features full text for: over 80 general health, nutrition and professional health care magazines; 130 books; and more than ten thousand reports and pamphlets.
Subject Coverage:
adult health, bacteriology, behavioral health, cardiology, childcare, drug and medication information, emergency medicine, food sciences and nutrition, general health, genetics, laboratory medicine, medical sciences, oncology, pediatric health, pediatrics, pulmonology, senior health, sports medicine, and women's health
Dates of Coverage:
January 1984 to present (for some journals)
January 1990 to present (for full-text)
Update Frequency:
daily
Size:
unknown
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Library of Medicine and covers journal literature published internationally in all areas of medicine.
Subject Coverage:
experimental medicine, clinical medicine, nursing, psychiatry, health services administration, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, education, pathology, veterinary medicine
Dates of Coverage:
1965 to present
1975 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 12,000,000 records
more than 4,800 biomedical journals
Note:
Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities.
Ovid Journals This link opens in a new window
An aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
attempts to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
Subject Coverage:
traumatic stress and mental health sequelae, assessment, prevention, treatment, mental health services, professional ethics, public policy, and traumatized populations
Dates of Coverage:
1871 to present
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 42,000 records
Note:
PTSDpubs is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
PubMed (for MSU) This link opens in a new window
Is a huge index database for biomedical literature maintained by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This link is to a customized version for Morehead State University which allows for quick links within the interface to articles from the online journals to which the library subscribes.
Subject Coverage:
medicine and biology
Dates of Coverage:
varies by journal title
Update Frequency:
varies by journal title
Size:
more than 23 million citations

Note:
Recommended for users of Chrome - LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that makes linking to full-text easier in PubMed. Go to https://thirdiron.com/libkey-nomad/
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A clinical decision support resource which includes access to over 11,000 topics in over 22 specialties.
"UptoDate is a well-known resource in the medical field. This database functions as a clinical decision support tool providing quick access to information that can help the clinician at the bedside. The information provided in each of the many clinical topics is considered evidence-based and has gone through a peer-review process before the summary of findings is presented. Additional tools such as drug interaction monitoring, clinical calculators, images, and practice changing updates are also highly sought after in the community of medical and health science users."
-- review from ccAdvisor