Covering the disease processes most frequently diagnosed with medical imaging, Comprehensive Radiographic Pathology, 5th Edition provides the essential pathology knowledge needed to produce quality radiographic images
The "bible" of radiography, this comprehensive resource presents more than 400 projections. Clear, step-by-step instructions explain all commonly performed procedures. Merrill's shows how to properly position the patient so that each radiograph provides the information the physician needs to make a correct diagnosis.
With clear, step-by-step instructions and more than 400 detailed full-color illustrations, Patient Care in Radiography, 8th Edition helps you develop the technical and interpersonal skills necessary to effectively care for radiography patients in the clinical environment.
Medical imaging now plays a major role in diagnosis, choice of therapy, and follow-up. However, patients are often intimidated by the multiple imaging modalities available, the indications for their use, the imposing equipment, what the examinations are like and how long they last, and theadvantages and disadvantages of various procedures. This book is designed to provide explanations for these and other issues in order to relieve some of the anxiety related to medical imaging studies.
With comprehensive coverage of both digital radiography and conventional film-screen radiography, RADIOGRAPHIC IMAGING AND EXPOSURE, 4th Edition helps you master the fundamental principles of imaging, produce clear images, and reduce the number of repeat radiographs.
Call Number: , MAIN COLLECTION 616.07572 B722t 2005
Publication Date: 2005-02-07
This radiography text focuses on about 200 of the most commonly performed radiographic exams, featuring a clear, easy-to-follow organization. It presents positioning and projection information in an easy-to-read, bulleted format on one side of the page spread, with corresponding positioning photos, radiographic images and anatomical drawings on the other side.
Across emergency rooms all over the world, thousands of patients are referred for brain CT scans daily... This book is written for caregivers the world over to demystify the emergency CT brain scan and to empower them to serve their patients better.
Radiologic technologists play an important role in the care and management of patients undergoing advanced imaging procedures. This new edition provides the up-to-date information and thorough coverage you need to understand the physical principles of computed tomography (CT) and safely produce high-quality images. You'll gain valuable knowledge about the practice of CT scanning, effective communication with other medical personnel, and sectional anatomic images as they relate to CT.
This book was created for medical professionals, students, and members of the general public who want to know as much as possible about CT scan, using the most advanced research tools available and spending the least amount of time doing so.
Essentials of Pediatric Radiology: A Multimodality Approach provides a concise overview of both basic and complex topics encountered by pediatric radiologists in their daily practice. Written by leading pediatric radiologists from renowned children's hospitals, it focuses particularly on multimodality imaging, covering the full gamut of radiologic diagnostic techniques, including conventional radiography and ultrasound, Doppler ultrasound, up-to-date CT and MRI techniques, and PET-CT.
Multidetector-row computed tomography (MDCT) has advanced the approach to diagnostic assessment of many pathologies and now plays an integral role in imaging of both abdominal and cardiovascular diseases.
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 618.1907572 F981 2003
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
This is a practical and comprehensive guide to obtaining high quality mammography through efficient, sensitive management of the patient and a thorough understanding of mammographic positioning and projections and their anatomical basis. It also includes chapters on basic mammographic interpretation and an outline of radiological procedures.
In 2009, an influential panel of medical experts ignited a controversy when they recommended that most women should not begin routine mammograms to screen for breast cancer until the age of fifty, reversing guidelines they had issued just seven years before when they recommended forty as the optimal age to start getting mammograms. While some praised the new recommendation as sensible given the smaller benefit women under fifty derive from mammography, many women's groups, health care advocates, and individual women saw the guidelines as privileging financial considerations over women's health and a setback to decades-long efforts to reduce the mortality rate of breast cancer.In The Big Squeeze, Dr. Handel Reynolds, a practicing radiologist, notes that this episode was only the most recent controversy in the turbulent history of mammography since its introduction in the early 1970s.
Over the last few decades, improved public awareness, the implementation of population screening by mammography, and the development of new technology for diagnosis have transformed the care of patients with breast cancer. .
We are what we eat. That old expression seems particularly poignant every time we have our blood drawn for a routine physical to check our cholesterol levels. And it's not just what we eat that affects our health. Whole ranges of behaviors ultimately make a difference in how we feel and how we maintain our health. Lifestyle choices have enormous impact on our health and well-being. But how do we communicate the language of good health so that it is uniformly received -- and accepted -- by people from different cultures and backgrounds? Take, for example, the case of a 66-year-old Latina. She has been told by her doctor that she should have a mammogram, but her sense of fatalism tells her that it is better not to know if anything is wrong. To know that something is wrong will cause her distress, and this may well lead to even more health problems. Before she leaves her doctor's office, she has decided not to have a mammogram -- that is, until her doctor points out that having one is a way to take care of herself so that she can continue to take care of her family. In this way the decision to have a mammogram feels like a positive step. Public health communicators and health professionals face dilemmas like this every day. Speaking of Health looks at the challenges of delivering important messages to different audiences. Using case studies in the areas of diabetes, mammography, and mass communication campaigns, it examines the ways in which messages must be adapted to the unique informational needs of their audiences if they are to have any real impact. Speaking of Health looks at basic theories of communication and behavioral change and focuses on where they apply and where they donot. By suggesting creative strategies and guidelines for speaking to diverse audiences now and in the future, the Institute of Medicine seeks to take health communication into the twenty-first century. In an age in which we are inundated by multiple messages every day, this book will be a critical tool for all who are interested in communicating with diverse communities about health issues.
This practical reference offers accessible, straightforward guidance on using MRI to evaluate diseases of the chest, abdomen, and pelvis. More than 1,050 superb imaging examples capture the appearance of normal anatomy as well as the pathologic entities most commonly encountered in practice.
Introductory chapters are devoted to diagnosis and cover the basics of performing breast MRI exams, setting up a breast MR program, and understanding clinical indications. Additional chapters discuss breast interventional procedures, including the surgeon's use of MR and MR-guided needle interventions.
Uses a case-based approach to provide you with a concise overview of the physics behind magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). Written by radiology residents, practicing radiologists, and radiology physicists, this multidisciplinary text introduces you to the basic physics of MRI and how they apply to successful and accurate imaging, interpretation, and diagnosis.
Explains and defines key concepts in body MRI so you can confidently make radiologic diagnoses. Dr. Christopher G. Roth presents comprehensive guidance on body imaging-from the liver to the female pelvis-and discusses how physics, techniques, hardware, and artifacts affect results.
Among the materials in the text are discussions on 3D imaging, real-time imaging, cardiac imaging, and parallel acquisition techniques. In addition, readers will find dozens of images to illustrate key concepts.
Hands-on approach to the evolving field of whole-body MRI-filled with tools to optimize whole-body MRI technology in the patient care setting Complete coverage of all the latest whole-body MRI technical requirements, principles, and associated data processing Richly illustrated presentation of the clinical areas of cardiovascular investigation and musculoskeletal diseases Overview of oncological whole-body imaging that addresses the comparison of whole-body MRI with bone scintigraphy in the detection of bone metastases, and with FDG-PET as it relates to whole-body staging Detailed review of both the clinical and experimental questions concerning whole-body MRI
Covers abdominal ultrasound. It is the ideal text for sonography students pursuing a greater understanding of this specialization. Beginning with core anatomy topics, this text is aimed at providing a thorough understanding of this crucial topic.
Presenting ultrasound pathology from a clinical perspective, this unique resource discusses various pathologies that may be related to a patient's symptoms and features illustrations with ultrasound scans that demonstrate each pathology. Organized into four major sections - abdomen, obstetrics, gynecology, and superficial structures - each symptom is presented in its own chapter along with key terms, an introductory paragraph, a clinical scenario, discussions of pathologies, illustrations, and patient scenarios.
Introducing an ideal resource for students and sonographers preparing to sit for the Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) examination offered by the ARDMS (American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography) sonography credential granting organization. A narrative style exam review, this resource is ideal for ultrasound programs requiring a certification review manual for either a review course or for use throughout the curriculum, as well as for any professional preparing for certification.
This text is a narrative style exam review text for two of the most popular sonography certification exams in abdomen and obstetrics and gynecology by the ARDMS (American Registry of Diagnostic Medical Sonography) and ARRT (American Registry of Radiologic Technologists) certification granting bodies.
"The book provides a simple platform for a blended learning approach to revision of the fundamentals of ultrasound, basic examination of the abdomen, obstetrics and gynaecology and includes QR codes and potential access to additional learning resources via an access code."
Gain a complete understanding of sonography physics and instrumentation related to clinical practice. Technology for Diagnostic Sonography provides clear, in-depth coverage of physics principles, ultrasound transducers, pulse echo instrumentation, Doppler instrumentation, clinical safety, and quality control.
Step-by-step instruction for using ultrasound in image-guided procedures This handbook is a practical reference for the full range of common and complex ultrasound-guided procedures frequently performed in clinical practice.
This book provides an understanding of the underlying scientific principles in the production of B-mode and Colour Flow imaging and Spectral Doppler sonograms. A basic description of common vascular diseases is given along with a practical guide as to how ultrasound is used to detect and quantify the disease.
In this book, Carolyn A. MacDonald provides a comprehensive introduction to the physics of a wide range of x-ray applications, optics, and analysis tools. Theory is applied to practical considerations of optics and applications ranging from astronomy to medical imaging and materials analysis.
The chest X-ray remains one of the most useful diagnostic tools available to the physician when presented with a patient demonstrating a range of clinical signs, from obvious breathing difficulties to a possible heart attack. Unlike X-ray images of many other parts of the body which will tend to be interpreted for the clinician by the radiologist, the interpretation of the chest X-ray will be performed by the clinician and used to determine the nature of a particular problem.