LibGuides: Topics in Kinesiology: History & Philosophy of Sport

Websites

Journals

Journal of Sport History
Most recent 4 years not available. From the University of Illinois Press: "The Journal of Sport History (JSH) seeks to promote the study of all aspects of the history of sport."
Physical Culture and Sport: Studies and Research
From the journal: "Physical Culture and Sport. Studies and Research is directed to the representatives of the social sciences of sport (philosophers, sociologists, pedagogues, managers of sport, and theoreticians of sport from particular or general point of view)."
The Open Sports Sciences Journal
From the journal: "The Open Sports Sciences Journal is an Open Access online journal which publishes research articles, reviews/mini-reviews, letters, and guest edited single topic issues in all areas of sports sciences, such as anthropology, biochemistry, biomechanics, epidemiology, growth and motor development, motor control and learning, measurement and evaluation, physiology, pedagogy, psychology, history, philosophy or sociology."

More Books

Ethics, Money and Sport by Adrian Walsh; Richard. Giulianotti
ISBN: 0415333385

Publication Date: 2006-11-27

Written from the contrasting yet complementary perspectives of sociology and philosophy, this book explores the far-reaching ethical consequences of the runaway commodification of sport, focusing on those instances where commodification gives rise to morally undesirable consequences.
Practical Philosophy of Sport by R. Scott Kretchmar
ISBN: 0873226194

Publication Date: 1994-06-01

"Practical Philosophy of Sport helps readers develop professional reasoning skills, find answers to their philosophic questions, and form a personal philosophy of physical education, sport, and exercise science."--
Sport, Philosophy, and Good Lives by Randolph Feezell
ISBN: 0803271530

Publication Date: 2013-07-01

Sport, Philosophy, and Good Lives discusses sport in the context of several traditional philosophical questions, including: What is a good human life and how does sport factor into it? To whom do we look for ethical guidance? What makes human activities or projects meaningful?

Databases

ABI/INFORM Global
Business information from articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.

Subject Coverage: accounting, banking, computers, economics, engineering management, communications, finance, health care, human resources, insurance, international trends, law, management, marketing, public administration, real estate, taxation, telecommunications, transportation

Dates of Coverage:
1971 to 1986 (for the deep backfile)
1986 to 1997 (for the backfile)
1999 to present (for the current file)
1991 to present (for records with abstracts)

Update Frequency: weekly

Size: more than 2,400,000 records
Academic Search Ultimate
The biggest multi-disciplinary index database that EBSCO offers.
9,283 active full-text journals and magazines
8,453 active, full-text, peer-reviewed journals
America: History and Life - Full Text
Indexes and abstracts English-language scholarly literature for the history of the United States and Canada. Records indexing book and media reviews of historical interest are also included.

Subject Coverage:
American History, Canadian History, popular culture, American Studies, ethnic studies, sociology, anthropology, women's studies/gender studies, genealogy, historic preservation, literature/folklore
Dates of Coverage:
1955 to present
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 400,000 records
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
A resource for debaters that includes pro/con viewpoints, scholarly articles, news articles, streaming audio and video, interactive maps, and infographics. Provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues.

Subject Coverage:
current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, and political science

Dates of Coverage:
unknown

Update Frequency:
weekly

Size:
more than 20,000 pro/con viewpoints and approximately 19,000 reference articles
Ovid Journals
An aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
ProQuest Central Premium