LibGuides: Palliative/End of Life Care: Resources

Websites

Journals

BMC Palliative Care
From the journal: "BMC Palliative Care is an open access journal publishing original peer-reviewed research articles in the clinical, scientific, ethical and policy issues, local and international, regarding all aspects of hospice and palliative care for the dying and for those with profound suffering related to chronic illness."
Family Practice and Palliative Care
From the journal: "Peer-reviewed, National and International, open access journal."
Indian Journal of Palliative Care
From the journal: "The Indian Journal of Palliative Care (IJPC) is an open-access peer-reviewed journal committed to publishing high-quality articles in the field of Palliative Care."
Korean Journal of Hospice and Palliative Care
From the Korean Society for Hospice and Palliative Care.
Palliative Care and Social Practice
From SAGE journals: "Palliative Care & Social Practice is an international open access palliative care journal that publishes articles from symptom science, clinical practice and health services research, as well as cutting-edge research from the realm of social practice – from public health theory and practice, social medicine and social work, to social sciences related to dying and its care, as well as policy, criticism and cultural studies."
Progress in Palliative Care
Most recent 1 year not available. From Scimago Journal and Country Rank: "Progress in Palliative Care is a peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary journal with an international perspective, which welcomes original research and review papers on a broad range of topics related to end of life care."

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains 6,550 full-text journals (with 5,890 of them peer-reviewed). Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Subject Coverage:
animal science, anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, science, technology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology
Dates of Coverage:
PDF content dating back as far as 1887
Update Frequency:
daily
Size:
over 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, technical reports, monographic series, dissertations, and other materials relating to psychology. Articles are selected from more than 1,500 journals published in 35 languages.
Subject Coverage:
psychology & related fields
Dates of Coverage:
1600s to present
Update Frequency:
weekly
Size:
more than 5 million records
Notes:
Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
Has one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry
Offers options for searching on Cited References
Training Videos: https://www.youtube.com/c/APAPublishingTraining/videos
CINAHL {Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature} This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes and abstracts more than 900 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software.
Subject Coverage:
nursing and allied health
Dates of Coverage:
1982 to present
1986 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 670,000 records
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Library of Medicine and covers journal literature published internationally in all areas of medicine.
Subject Coverage:
experimental medicine, clinical medicine, nursing, psychiatry, health services administration, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, education, pathology, veterinary medicine
Dates of Coverage:
1965 to present
1975 to present (for records with abstracts)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 12,000,000 records
more than 4,800 biomedical journals
Note:
Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities.
PubMed (for MSU) This link opens in a new window
Is a huge index database for biomedical literature maintained by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This link is to a customized version for Morehead State University which allows for quick links within the interface to articles from the online journals to which the library subscribes.
Subject Coverage:
medicine and biology
Dates of Coverage:
varies by journal title
Update Frequency:
varies by journal title
Size:
more than 23 million citations

Note:
Recommended for users of Chrome - LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that makes linking to full-text easier in PubMed. Go to https://thirdiron.com/libkey-nomad/
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is a digital archive of peer-reviewed life sciences journal literature written in English that was created and is maintained by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Subject Coverage:
life sciences
Dates of Coverage:
varies by journal title
Update Frequency:
varies by journal title
Size:
more than 7 million articles
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A clinical decision support resource which includes access to over 11,000 topics in over 22 specialties.
"UptoDate is a well-known resource in the medical field. This database functions as a clinical decision support tool providing quick access to information that can help the clinician at the bedside. The information provided in each of the many clinical topics is considered evidence-based and has gone through a peer-review process before the summary of findings is presented. Additional tools such as drug interaction monitoring, clinical calculators, images, and practice changing updates are also highly sought after in the community of medical and health science users."
-- review from ccAdvisor