LibGuides: PHIL 333: Library Help

Search the Contents of Reference Books

Enter your search terms:

Reference Universe

Enter your search terms:

This is an excellent, scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. It allows you to search back-of-the-book indexes and article titles in thousands of reference books owned by Camden-Carroll Library. If it is an e-book you can access it. If it is a print book you can find its call number and then the volume and page numbers for your topic.

Find Journal Articles for Philosophy and Religion

Philosopher’s Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is an international index with author-written abstracts from scholarly books and journals of philosophy and related fields.
Access limited to not more than 4 users at a time.
Subject Coverage:
ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysic logic, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language
Dates of Coverage:
1940 to present
Update Frequency:
quarterly
Size:
more than 235,000 records
journal articles (80%)
books (20%)

Restrictions:
limited to not more than 4 users at a time.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Is a comprehensive list of scholarly journals which make the full text of their articles freely available on the web.
Subject Coverage:
a large variety of subjects
Dates of Coverage:
unknown
Update Frequency:
"regularly"
Size:
more than 1,800,000 articles
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains 6,550 full-text journals (with 5,890 of them peer-reviewed). Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Subject Coverage:
animal science, anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, science, technology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology
Dates of Coverage:
PDF content dating back as far as 1887
Update Frequency:
daily
Size:
over 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is an online archive of scholarly journals. Articles are searchable in a number of ways and may be viewed as web pages and in some cases as PDF files.
Subject Coverage:
covers many subject areas
Dates of Coverage:
unavailable
Update Frequency:
unavailable
Size:
more than 227 journals
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of the periodical holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features about 6,500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century.
Subject Coverage:
agriculture, architecture, art, books and publishing, business, ethnic groups, family, government, history, industry, language, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, politics, religion, revolutionary war, science
Dates of Coverage:
1691 to 1877
Update Frequency:
unknown
Size:
more than 7 million pages
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is an online archive of scholarly journals which contains high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Journals span continents and languages, with titles from 1,200 publishers from 57 countries. Contains also scholarly e-books, primary sources, and an image collection.
Subject Coverage:
covers many subject areas
Dates of Coverage:
varies by title (1665 is the earliest year covered)
Update Frequency:
varies by title
Size:
more than 2,800 journals
Notes:
There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

Search for Books in Libraries Worldwide

Academic Search Complete

JSTOR

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is an online archive of scholarly journals which contains high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Journals span continents and languages, with titles from 1,200 publishers from 57 countries. Contains also scholarly e-books, primary sources, and an image collection.
Subject Coverage:
covers many subject areas
Dates of Coverage:
varies by title (1665 is the earliest year covered)
Update Frequency:
varies by title
Size:
more than 2,800 journals
Notes:
There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.