It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology and Chemistry: Articles / Databases
Library resources and services for students and faculty
The library does not subscribe to Current Protocols on the web. However it is possible for faculty in the sciences who need to download an up-to-date protocol may do so by using tokens that the library has accrued. Click on 'more...' for details.
1) Search in the Wiley Online Library to locate the document that you want. You will be blocked from accessing it by a login prompt.
2) Contact Dr. Sean O'Keefe 606-783-2954 in the Biology Department and let him know what you need. He will decide whether the number of documents you are requesting is affordable. If so he will spend the necessary tokens to make that document available available inside the database interface for a 24 hour window.
A single token costs roughly $25 and annually the library has a limited number of tokens to spend.
Indexes doctoral dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. It selectively covers Master's Theses, Canadian dissertations, and British and other European dissertations going back to 1637. Nearly half of the records link to the full-text document.
covers the complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions
Dates of Coverage:
1637 to present (for selected British and European dissertations)
1861 to present (for indexing of U.S. dissertations)
July 1980 to present (for dissertations with abstracts)
January 1988 to present (for Master's Theses with abstracts)
1997 to present (for the full-text of most dissertations)
2013 to present (for indexing and full-text of theses produced at Morehead State University)
more than 3,800,000 records
more than 1.700.000 full-text documents
Automatically do an interlibrary loan request if the article is not available online or in the library.
What is Peer Review?
It is the quality control system for scholarship. It means that articles in a peer-reviewed journal must be scrutinized by experts before they are published. SYNONYMS = 'academic', 'juried', 'refereed', 'scholarly'.
How can you tell when something is peer-reviewed?
1) When you are looking at a print copy, of an entire issue of a journal, the editorial board of scholars with academic credentials and institutional affiliations will be listed somewhere. These are the 'peers' that review each published article.
2) Use a check box limit in your database search (when available).