LibGuides: African American Literature: Journals

Information Literacy

Learning how to evaluate information is an essential skill in today's world. To learn how to evaluate a publication series, visit this guide:

Distinctions Among Types of Periodicals

Databases

Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
In this database you can browse subjects for literature, and then do a specific search within this subject area. Searching 'african american' yields great results.
Subject Coverage:
major authors, periods, genres
Dates of Coverage:
1993 to present
Update Frequency:
as new print volumes are published
Size:
more than 176 titles and more than 1500 essays
Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry This link opens in a new window
Click on 'Poetry Sources' and you'll see a search and a box below that already has African-American Poetry available. Highlight this and click submit.
Subject Coverage:
poetry in English, Anglo-Saxon, French, Gaelic, German, Italian, Latin, Polish, Portuguese, Provencal, Spanish, Welsh, and Yiddish
Dates of Coverage:
antiquity to the present
Update Frequency:
daily
Size:
more than 250,000 poems
more than 450,000 citations
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism This link opens in a new window
Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, it presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements.
Subject Coverage:
literary theory and criticism
Dates of Coverage:
1994 and 2005
Update Frequency:
"several new entries each year"
Size:
more than 240 entries

Scholarly Journals

African American Literary Review

Website for this journal: http://aar.slu.edu/index.html

Requesting this journal: http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/30101764

About this journal: http://ulrichsweb.serialssolutions.com/title/1498570009218/50398

Journal of African America Children's Literature

Requesting this journal: http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/61227116

Black American Literature Forum

Full text: https://www.jstor.org/journal/blacamerliteforu

Popular Journals

Black Renaissance Noir

"Black Renaissance/Renaissance Noire publishes essays, poetry, fiction, photography, art, and reviews that address the full range of contemporary BLACK concerns. It invites BLACK genius to apply itself to the realities of the twenty-first century with uncompromised thought, generous and readable analysis, and commentary."

http://www.nyubrn.org