LibGuides: CRIM 385 Contemporary Legal Issues in the Criminal Justice System: Articles / Databases

Find Journal Articles for Criminology

Other Useful Databases for Criminology

Congressional Research Service Reports This link opens in a new window
CRS is Congress’ think tank, and its reports are relied upon by academics, businesses, judges, policy advocates, students, librarians, journalists, and policymakers for accurate and timely analysis of important policy issues. The reports are not classified and do not contain individualized advice to any specific member of Congress.
Dates of Coverage:
mid 1990s to the present

Update Frequency:
unknown

Size:
more than 8,300 reports

Note:
As government information these reports are in the public domain and can be used freely without concerns over copyright.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is a topical weekly publication that explores a single "hot" issue in-depth. Each weekly report seeks to be an objective, balanced treatment of the topic and runs approximately 12,000 words.
Subject Coverage:
social issues, teen issues, the environment, health, education, science, and technology
Dates of Coverage:
October 25, 1991 to present
January 1996 (PDF files included)
January 2001 (color PDF files included)
Update Frequency:
weekly
Size:
not available
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes doctoral dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. It selectively covers Master's Theses, Canadian dissertations, and British and other European dissertations going back to 1637. Nearly half of the records link to the full-text document.
Subject Coverage:
covers the complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions
Dates of Coverage:
1637 to present (for selected British and European dissertations)
1861 to present (for indexing of U.S. dissertations)
July 1980 to present (for dissertations with abstracts)
January 1988 to present (for Master's Theses with abstracts)
1997 to present (for the full-text of most dissertations)
2013 to present (for indexing and full-text of theses produced at Morehead State University)
Update Frequency:
monthly
Size:
more than 3,800,000 records
more than 1.700.000 full-text documents
Facts On File: World News Digest This link opens in a new window
Brings together and enhances more than seven decades of domestic and international news.
Subject Coverage:
political, social, and economic news events
Dates of Coverage:
October 1940 to present
Update Frequency:
weekly
Size:
more than 92,000 records
GPO govinfo This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of many government documents. It updates and replaces GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) website.
Subject Coverage:
covers numerous subject areas
Dates of Coverage:
1994 to present
Lexington Herald-Leader This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the news, features, sports and entertainment articles written by the staff at the Lexington Herald-Leader and provided by the major wire services. Also includes content from the web edition and blog.
Subject Coverage:
Lexington local news, Kentucky state government news, thoroughbred horse racing and breeding, and the coal industry
Dates of Coverage:
April 25, 1983 to present
Update Frequency:
daily
Size:
not available